Ferrari Life Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,696 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I took a 500 - 600 mile trip in my 550 in least than 24 hours. I drove it up the I-5 from Orange County to SR 46 in the Great Valley of California. Dropping down the grapevine at 9:00 p,m, I thought I was having a heating problem. I am a new owner. THe button for the outside temperature was pusted and it read 85 degrees at that time. WOW, That is hot for the evening fromn where I am from.

I turn left off of I-5. SR 46 is about 60 dark straight two lane miles to Paso Robles near the coast. What fun. I have never done this before. No towns, crossroads, or sshops for a long period of time. Just the darkest of the countryside. Boy, am I happy my 550 has such great headlights. They are had to over drive.

In the morning, I drove south on Highway 101 & PCH. What a car this 550 is. Heavy trafficc, no problem. Cruising along the coast wacthing the surf is great.

FERRARI Forever.

·
Premium Member
5,509 Posts
Bart,
Awesome!!! Great ride!!!
I don't really like to drive the 308 at night due to the inferior headlights and dashlights. Those are on my list of items to upgrade. I would love to take some good night time rides up through the White Mountains in New Hampshire with the top off. That also is on the list of things to do.

·
Registered
1,696 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have not really driven much in the dark. With the headlights my car has, I was able to drive this beast and still see and reacted in time to stop before hitting anything. Wow! Even the low beams allowed me to drive safely at 80 mph. The high beams were would have allowed me to drive as fast as my beast would go. Too fast for me!

What a fantastic auto. I feel sorry for the owner who are collectors. They are missing the boat.

I feel sorry for the flippers. They just keep the price up for the resalers.

Drivers of Ferraris enjoy them.

·
Registered
457 Posts
Pete,