Ferrari Life Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! I am new to this message board and I have recently bought a 1985 Mondial cabriolet in the Pergo color with 26K miles. The car had been a blast to drive but I have recently experienced a starting problem. The first time this happened, I hooked my battery charger to the car and it started up. Since then I have replaced the battery but it just makes a humming sound when I turn the key and will not turn over. I have heard that this could be caused by the starter not getting enough voltage but I am new to the car so I am not sure where to start with this (no pun intended). In worse case, does anybody know of a good Ferrari mechanic in the Philadelphia suburb area? I appreciate any help on this. Thanks.

·
Registered
1 Posts
I'm not sure where you purchased the car from.. But there are 2 places that come to mind, depending on your location. There is Dinardo Foreign motors in Horsham.. They always seem to have a few older Ferraris on hand so I would assume that they know whats up. There is also the official area Ferrari dealer, Algar. They are located in Bryn Mawr.
Good luck! :)

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I purchased the car in Pittsburg so that will be way too far to use for maintenance. I knew about Algar since I have been down there drooling over the cars before but I did not know about Dinardo Foreign Motors. It is always nice to have at least 2 places for maintenance so that you can get a competative bid on maintenance. Thanks for the information.

·
Registered
1,684 Posts
Try checking the contactors at the bootom of the car. Most likely it is bad contact/s. It happened to my 328 a couple of times once at home and the mechanics just came around again after I filled it with petrol. The mechanics went under and checked all the contacts and walla the car started. It was embaressing because I was stranded at the pump station for all to see. :oops:

·
Registered