Ferrari Life Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
749 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Checked out a car recently which the owner "never took over 5000". OK, better that way than the other extreme I guess, but how do YOU drive your car(s)?

·
Premium Member
5,509 Posts
Occasionally I'll "open 'er up" and run her through the gears and I have once had it on the highway in 5th gear and pushing the redline.

But that is the exception rather than the rule. I'm generally very easy on my car. I'm afraid of repair bills and speeding tickets.

·
Registered
1,684 Posts
Change near the red line until I reach the 6th gear. Then I'll cruise at 6,500 to 7,000. The excitement is accelerating to the red line and changing the gears. That's when I pretend I'm a race driver. :lol:

·
Registered
293 Posts
Generally, i place the key in the ignition, depress the clutch and move the stick shift to neutral. Then i rotate the key in the ignition to the right.

How do i drive it??? Umm... i think i need to change oil every 2k miles... and this is "high life" Amsoil Pro 2000 race 20-50 synth stuff. Guess living between 5k to 7k rpm quite a bit makes the oil really important.

Oh, and the odd alleged 101mph in a 55mph zone doesn't help matters (see attached image).

Attachments

·
Registered
187 Posts
I believe in a ZERO CARBON policy in my engines. At least once during a drive I will nail it to the mat through all of the gears, shifting at around 6800 RPM (which is peak HP curve) to blow the carbon out. If possible I hit 100 MPH at least once on every drive (just for me). Otherwise I run at moderate RPM's when shifting, 3500 to 5k RPM, take my time shifting depressing the clutch fully.

Moderate cornering loads with the occasional throw into a turn just to feel the tires and suspension working.

My last trip to Vancouver, B.C. for a show was easy freeway driving, obeying speed limits (mostly). 250 mile round trip in temps 80 to 90 degrees