Ferrari Life Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
greetings. i am the new owner of a 308 gt-4 in pretty rough condition, the car is a 1976 model. i can'not open the front trunk on the car. the mechanism that opens the hood works on the right but not on the left. how would I go about opening it without damaging the car? the wheels on the car also do not rotate. what could be the reason for that? the car had been sitting outside since 1991. thank you in advance :)

http://www.villagephotos.com/pubbrowse.asp?selected=841307

·
Premium Member
129 Posts
Welcome to the forum, looks like you'll have some work ahead of you, but in the end I'm sure it will all be worth it. As for the wheels not rotating and given the fact it has been sitting 12 years, I think it's safe to assume that your calipers are seized!
Ed

·
Registered
2,211 Posts
I'm not too technical, but I can see you have a lot of work to do. please keep us updated. We can always use a lot of pics from restaurations etc.

·
Premium Member
5,509 Posts
I can't help you with the hood part, but for the wheels it sounds to me like all of your wheel bearings are rusted and seized. I would suspect you will have to replace all of the wheel bearings, bearing races and grease seals. Shouldn't be that big of a job although some heat may be required to take it apart and you will probably uncover other problems. Since you can't open the hood to get to the battery I'm guessing you don't even know if the car runs? I would think changing the cam belts would be a priority before trying to start it. The valves are interference, meaning the pistons will hit them if the belt breaks while the engine is running.

It's too bad the car was let go like that, it looks pretty rough in the photos.

There is a member here who's handle is '75 308 GT4 (Peter). This guy knows more about the 308 series cars than anyone I've ever talked to. Send him a PM and I'm sure he'd be glad to give you some advice.

·