Ferrari Life Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

Newbie here, don't own a Ferrari but would like to buy one sometime, far off into the future (after medical school, residency and landing a job).

I was reading about the Northern California Racing Club and the website said all open cars (convertibles) need roll cages on them in order to race. The website said as of June 2004, no "hoop" roll cages b/h the driver seat would be permitted. From pics of the F360 spider, it seems the F360 Spider has these "hoop" roll cages but I'm not sure about that.

My question is are the roll cages on the F360 spider SCCA (Sports Car Club of America) race legal?

Thanks all and take care.

ps- great site. If I had money, I'd contribute. But right now, the well is very dry.

·
Premium Member
5,509 Posts
Haven't heard of that ruling. I wonder if all you'd have to do to the Spider is have someone weld a bar across the 2 "hoops". Hum, maybe we should just race the 360 Coupes. :green:

·
Registered
15 Posts
Hi,

I'm new to the site, after seeing the hits on our NCRC web site.

NCRC's rule on convertibles is that they must pass the broomstick test. That'll mean it's specific to the particular driver/car combination. I've never sat in the Modena Spider, so I can't really picture where the hoops are relative to my 6' height, but the bottom line will be that if you can sit in the car with helmet on, and the line from the hoop to the window frame is clear, then you're fine. If your helmet is above this line, then the car will not be allowed. So you can easily check this at home and find out where you sit.

We feel this is in the best interest of safety, and is a pretty rational positioning. Apologies in advance to those that are affected by the ruling.

Dave - NCRC co-founder

·
Registered
2,211 Posts
Found a pic (courtesy of whoever made the ebay auction pics it came from)