Ferrari Life Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1980 308 GTSi
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I am new to the Ferrari world and I inherited an 80 308 GTSi and its been sitting for 28 yrs.
I don't just want to started it up since its been sitting for so long I have been told to drain the old fluids and ad new fluids then started it. Any pointers from the pros on here is much appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
Ruben,

·
Registered
21 Posts
Very big congratulations on Ferrari ownership!
You’re going to want to change cam belts and bearings before you EVER Try to start this machine. This is an interference engine, meaning, if one of those belts break the valves will collide with the Pistons and it gets very expensive in short order. If it was me, I would pull all the spark plugs and spray some PB blaster in all the cylinders and let it sit for a day or two then try to turn the engine over by hand using a socket wrench on the end of the Engine crank very slowly just to make sure nothing is seized from sitting so long. If all looks good, throw some premium gas in the girl in a set of new plugs and see if she will fire. If it was parked with fuel in the tanks, you’re going to have to pull the gas tanks and fuel distributor and have them cleaned out. Keep us posted! Kim

·
Registered
5 Posts
A. Do not do anything to it.
B. Call Roselli (in San Jose) 408 257 0303.
C. Tell him your situation and see if you can make an appointment to have the car brought to his shop.
D. I have not had any experience with the shop, but they worked on my 360 before I bought it, and did a great job. Everything they fixed, has stayed fixed for the last five year.
E. What is your budget? This might not be cheap.

·
Registered
21 Posts