Ferrari Life Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello fellow enthusiasts. I am a newbie, so please excuse my rudimentary questions. I am interested in a 308,328 or 348. I would like some basic guidelines on what I need to know, what I need to look for and what I need to run away from:)
The car will be used very sparingly, as is the case with most Ferraris, I assume. I always think it is best to spend as much as you possibly can to get a car in the best condition, instead of buying a car that is in boxes, but is a "fixer upper." That being said, I covet your advice. Thanks!
Sam

·
Administrator
6,320 Posts
Welcome to the site Sam. Here are some tips:

1. Stay away from the 348. Many 348 owners get upset when they see this but the truth is the car can give you lots of problems. The only exception is the later Spider and the GTB/GTS which were only offered in the European market.

2. Be sure to have the PPI (pre-purchase inspection) done by a Ferrari mechanic. That mechanic will find things you cannot.

3. You are right about finding a good conditioned car for these model years. Parts are on the expensive side and you'll spend more bringing the car back up to standards than you would buying a already good conditioned car.

4. The 308 and 328 are very similar cars and very different. The 328 has more power. The early carb 308s are going to be classics.

Hope this helps. Boxer is right, the Buyer's guides will help you with questions on all three models.

Regards,

Andrew

·
Registered
104 Posts
Welcome to the site Sam. Here are some tips:

1. Stay away from the 348. Many 348 owners get upset when they see this but the truth is the car can give you lots of problems. The only exception is the later Spider and the GTB/GTS which were only offered in the European market.

2. Be sure to have the PPI (pre-purchase inspection) done by a Ferrari mechanic. That mechanic will find things you cannot.