Ferrari Life Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've been lurking around in the background for about a year, just reading about people's experiences. I'm a complete newbie, and have only sat in a Ferrari once. The most amazing driving experience I've had was a week with a Porsche 911 Carrera Cabriolet, and the engine sound was just amazing. But, I don't hear nearly as many people talking about Porsche engine sounds as Ferrari engine sounds. I would very much like to see what it is like. I've been to Porsche, Mercedes, BMW dealerships, and it was all very easy to get a test drive. In fact, the hardest places to get test drives were at Hyundai, Toyota, and Nissan (ironic).

I currently own a BMW 540i sport and, currently, it suits me just fine. I haven't had the nerve, though, to step into a Ferrari dealership and ask for a test drive. For one, these cars are usually in the quarter million dollar range, and I don't know what process is required to get "approved." Do they need to check a bank statement or what? Every dealership I've been to simply asks for a copy of my driver's license. I'm not necessarily going to buy a Ferrari within a few days of test driving one, either, so I don't think the dealership would take too kindly to the idea of someone walking in, just to see what it is like. In all honesty, though, if Ferrari really is as good as people tell me, I'll definitely end up getting one.

How should I pursue this? Just walk in?

*edit* Ah, another question. I have a friend who wants to get a Ferrari F430. I know a lot about the cars, but, obviously, not the buying process. So, my question is: what do you have to do to get on a waiting list to get a new one? I called Ferrari/Maserati of Scottsdale and they weren't very forward with any information about this. Only, that it would be a long wait.

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #2