Ferrari Life Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys,

As many of you probably know, I am new to the ferrari life and have invested over £50K in a F355 spider! Today I had a shock though and am now very worried! I have done a total of 2000 miles since I have had my car, I took it back to the gatage after about 750 miles and they said oil levels were good and did a few minor repairs. Today I have checked the oil again after obviously 1250 miles. It was just under the minimum. Now I have to admit I have opened her up a lot more than I had been due to knowing what she does and the buitliful noise she makes through her de-catted lungs and Tubi Syle X-box. I must say I have never pushed her past 8 on the gadge and do not coinsider anything I have done to be ragging her!

Is 2 litres of oil normal though...? I only get a slight bit of condensation on start up with no blue smoke and earlier I even got my girlfriend to blip the through throttle whilst I watched, she took it to 5K and no sign of a blue puff. Is this normal? There are also no leaks whatsoever with the car sat in a gartage at least 5 days in ia row.

Whats the score guys? Oh and also before buying it I had a compression test which came out and 92 per cylinder from 1-7 and 91 on 8.

Im I worring needlessly or is it about to meet its maker?

I await your feedback with just about every bone that can be crossed!

Regards

Chris

·
Administrator
15,140 Posts
No, that is not normal but......when and how did you check the oil level???

To get an accurate reading it must be done immediately after you turn the car off when the engine was been at full normal running tempature (suggest you take a look at the following related thread http://www.ferrarilife.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5149) If you wait 5-10 minutes the oil level will have begun to drop and you will get a false low reading. Overfilling based on a false low is also not a healthy situation....