Ferrari Life Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have recently taken the leap and purchased a 2000 360 and I have to start by saying that this car lives up to everything you hear about it.
I need something answered from someone who also owns a 360 becauseI do not know if this is normal or if it is the way I am manipulating the clutch... I would be drivign hard and then switch into neutral, out of no where the engine charges to about 7000 rpm and stays there! I rev it harder, doesnt go down, it put it into gear and it immediatly goes to normal. Needless to say that when the engine shrieks like that and your foot is no where near the throttle it is pretty scary.
Again, I am new with this car and perhaps it is the way I am driving but for some reason this does not seem right.

All feedback welcome!

·
Administrator
6,320 Posts
This is the first time I've heard of this problem. You may think I'm nuts when I say this but I had this problem on a 308. Check the carpet. If it is getting pushed up under the pedal it could actually be pushing the pedal's wire hence the rev.

Now a question I have. Does it stay at 7000 RPMs or does it jump to 7000 and then back down to ~1000? If this is what is happening my carpet idea is probably not the problem.

·
Administrator
6,320 Posts
Also, when you put it into gear is this at a stop? Into first gear?

BTW I got ahead of myself. Welcome to the site. I hope we can help solve this problem for you.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the welcome and quick feedback.

The car is a manual transmission. I do not belive it was the carpet since the actions were strange. I was in gear (3rd?) and was probably driving in a range of 7000rpm, depress the clutch, shift to neutral and it immediatly rockets back to 7000rpm and stays there. The only thing that brought it back to normal was going back into gear.