Taking care of a Testarossa - Ferrari Life

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 Old 11-01-2014, 04:52 PM Thread Starter

Ferrari Life Posts: 1
Taking care of a Testarossa

Hi everyone,

what a great forum this is! I'm in Italy for a couple of months taking care of my friend's house and cars. He have a Testarossa 91, it has done almost 60k km and was bought from a Ferrari dealer. Supposed to be in good condition. I know quite a bit about cars and understand most technical stuff, but I an no mechanic! I have little previous Ferrari experience apart from what I have read here on the forum.

What I wonder about is how do I take care of the car in the best possible way? My friend, the owner, is not exactly a car enthusiast. I am and I sure that most Testarossa owners her are, so I would be very happy for all kinds of info!

I plan on taking the car for a drive once a week. When i start it, I let the engine run for ca.10min before I drive (little after it idles smoothly). I don't give too much throttle until it's properly warm. What about when I turn it of? I read someones post here about letting it run until the engien cools down. The temperature her is around 18 Celsius (64F) during the day.

I have noticed a couple of things with the car. One is that it doesn't idle properly when it's cold. Is this "normal"? The other thing is that the temperature is colder from the right exhaust pipe and it seems stay a bit colder even when the engine is warm. The sound differs also a bit when it idles. May these to things be related?