Scanner? - Ferrari Life
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 12-11-2011, 07:35 AM Thread Starter
Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Ferrari Life Posts: 6
Scanner?

Has anyone found a scanner that will work with 512tr that does'nt cost the amount of a major?
dontilgon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 12-11-2011, 08:34 AM
Owner
Elite Member
 
tazandjan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Ferrari Life Posts: 11,856
Don- Unless I am mistaken, there is no OBD II connector on the 512 TR. The engine is controlled by a Motronic 2.7 system, and factory testers like the SD1 could only analyze the engine Motronic ECU functions. There is a diagnosis plug near the ECUs, but I think it is proprietary for the factory SD1 tool. Leonardo's tool will work, but it is $20K or so.

Maybe Brian can elaborate or correct.
Attached Images
 

Taz
Terry Phillips

Present: 575M 135171
Past: Dino 246 GT 02984, 365 GTB/4 14009, 308 GTS 25125

Every day I look around, and if nobody is shooting at me, it is a pretty good day.
tazandjan is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 12-11-2011, 08:41 AM Thread Starter
Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Ferrari Life Posts: 6
Yep your rite about that. I was hoping someone new of possibly being an sd1 to obd adapter. Wishful thinking
dontilgon is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 Old 02-07-2012, 03:45 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Ferrari Life Posts: 17
Take a look on the Texa tool.....it's called IDC4. Let me know if you need more info.
Gerdi is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 02-07-2012, 09:20 AM
Owner
Elite Member
 
tazandjan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Ferrari Life Posts: 11,856
Gerdi- How about doing a dedicated thread to the Texa tools and what they can do on a Ferrari? Do not think Andrew will mind because a working tool would benefit all of us. Might end up with another Ferrari Life sponsor, too.

Their website is too generic to tell me much.

Taz
Terry Phillips

Present: 575M 135171
Past: Dino 246 GT 02984, 365 GTB/4 14009, 308 GTS 25125

Every day I look around, and if nobody is shooting at me, it is a pretty good day.
tazandjan is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 02-07-2012, 10:08 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Ferrari Life Posts: 17
Yes PIS reset is possible.
Take a look at the pictures. Also you can see the system which are possiple to do a diagnosis. If you detailed information, write me a PM with your email adress.
Attached Images
     
Gerdi is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 04-28-2012, 06:13 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Ferrari Life Posts: 7
You need a 55 pin break-out box or Autoforce tester with 55 pin and some have ABS built-in. I brought mine back in 91 for 13,000 US dollars. I have seen on EBAY from 500-2000 $. Make sure it comes with a 55 pin connector and books with tech info. John Bradley also put-out a book with pin info for the early Motronic systems.
Jim_Hall is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
Copyright 2012 ONE Media, Inc.
FerrariLife is independently run with no affiliation with Ferrari SpA
Ferrari for Sale | Maserati for Sale