Testarossa not starting - Ferrari Life

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 01-13-2004, 08:13 PM Thread Starter

Ferrari Life Posts: 4
Testarossa not starting

I am new to the wonderful world of Ferrari with a recent purchase of an 88 Testarossa. After a short drive and stop - we were not able to restart? The starter seems to crank freely. I may get 2 or 3 engine cranks then the starter seems to spin freely again? No engine noise - (like valves hitting pistons).

Do the testarossas have starter problems - or am I facing @ a bigger issue?

I will finally have time this weekend to look a little deeper into the issus - thanks for any advice on where to start.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 01-13-2004, 09:33 PM
Owner

Ferrari Life Posts: 749
Firstly welcome marcinhay! Congratulations on acquiring such a great car. Pls post any pix or info like colours, etc here too!

Could this just be a battery problem? A free-spinning starter indicates that it hasn't engaged the flywheel teeth. I'm not sure about the TR but most starters require a minimum rotational speed and/or battery voltage to get (and keep) teeth engagement. A new or recharged battery may fix, otherwise maybe the starter/solenoid unit needs cleaning/adjustment to get the proper throw of the pinion. These are probably the easier fixes!
post #3 of 4 Old 01-14-2004, 12:12 AM

Ferrari Life Posts: 2,211
Welcome here,

I'm not that technical, but I'm sure somebody here can help you. Let us see some pics of your car

Greets

Bob Hagendijk

post #4 of 4 Old 01-14-2004, 09:36 PM Thread Starter

Ferrari Life Posts: 4
Thanks for the response - we got her started, but seem to have an electrical issue or ? Does not have the full power - it revs fine but when driving, feels like its running on 6 cylinders?

Also - does anyone know if you can chrome the OEM Wheels or what aftermarkets are available for the center spindle wheels?
Attached Images

Show Printable Version Show Printable Version