New TR owner, clutch replacement - Ferrari Life

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 46 Old 10-12-2011, 01:03 AM Thread Starter
Owner

Ferrari Life Posts: 42
New TR owner, clutch replacement

Hallo to you all,

My name is Peter and I am new at FL and since 2 days the proud owner of a 1987 black Testarossa. I already read a lot on this forum and got a lot of usefull information (especially from carguy). Thanks!

The thing is that I bought this TR (for a very good price), but there is a lot that have to be repaired on this car. It had been stored in a barn for the last 10 years and the clutch does not work at all anymore.

Anyway I picked it up earlier this week and here's a picture of it: Name:  DSC00305.jpg
Views: 2964
Size:  49.9 KB

The question I have is: does anyone of you have experience with the repair / replacement of a TR clutch?

I will do all repairs by myself and as far as I can see now (I did not disassemble anything yet) I have to replace the complete clutch unit. The OEM clutch is here in Europe about 2.800,00. But I can get a new unit from AP for about 775,00 euro.

Does anybody have experience with an AP clutch?

The clutch repair will be done with the car on the floor in my own garage-box and I do not have an (how you call this...) elevator...?! But I suppose this would not be a problem, beacause carguy does a complete 30k inspection on the floor :-).