328/Testarossa Purchase - Ferrari Life

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 Old 09-11-2007, 03:57 PM Thread Starter

Ferrari Life Posts: 65
328/Testarossa Purchase

Hello to Everyone! I joined this group a few weeks ago, and would like to introduce myself, and pose some questions to the group re: getting a 328 or TR (early one before the 512TR... which are getting too high). Sorry if this note ends up being rather long, as I'll probably be spilling my guts somewhat....

I see US members here may be a minority. I'm a retired Mechanical Engineer, and live in the Phoenix, Arizona area. My first Ferrari purchase was a 275GTB 2cam, steel, shortnose, open driveshaft version in 1978. I proceeded to restore it over the next 10+ years, with lots of kind help from Bob Wallace, and sold it in 1992. At that time, I picked up a 308GT4 with only 17k mi. on it. Great car, and fun to drive, but needed paint, and 0-60mph of around 8sec. just didn't do it for me. So I sold it in 2003. I currently have a 400GT 2+2 which is totally dismantled and I plan to restore.

I have planned to get another car to drive, and have decided to search for either a 328 or Testarossa. What I REALLY lust for is a Boxer, but prices are just getting too high. Too bad I didn't get one when I sold the GT4 4yrs ago! I guess I'd try to find a way if I could find a solid one for $80k or so, but doubt that's do-able at this point. I did think about selling the 400, but decided I still want to restore it... only have $40k in it right now, and what else can I get of that vintage for that kind of price?

So I'd like to ask some questions comparing ownership, etc. of the 328 vs. a TR .... please bear with me. I also considered a 348, but I tend to feel these are getting a little to hi-tech in terms of electronics/service. I do like servicing all my vehicles as far as possible. 348 input also appreciated.