Oil Temp ('80 308 GTSi) - Ferrari Life

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 07-01-2007, 07:28 PM Thread Starter
Owner

Ferrari Life Posts: 62
Oil Temp ('80 308 GTSi)

Just completed my first track day with the 308 - car well out performed driver in most regards - But was concerned with the oil temp. The water temp registered fine, but the oil temp indicated close to max temp after only six laps (2.5ml/lap, ambient- 90 to 95 degrees F). My question is is my temp sender/gauge goofy or do 308's run hot when pushed hard, at least concerning the oil? Any input is appreicated.

Tifosi
1980 Ferrari 308 GTSi
2002 Mercedes Benz C32 AMG
2004 Triumph Bonneville - Cafe Racer
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 07-03-2007, 03:58 PM
Owner

Ferrari Life Posts: 132
I'm no expert, but mine runs very hot too, I'm using 5W50 synthetic oil, I hope that helps! Dennis
post #3 of 14 Old 07-05-2007, 09:22 AM

Ferrari Life Posts: 293
As i track the 85 308 a lot, have learned that yes the oil can run hot (over 120C versus the normal 90C). Thicker oil seems to make things worse and there are solutions.

A few humble suggestions if you plan to track a lot:
Change the oil after about 4 track days and send a sample to Blackstone Labs for analysis.

Check your rear stub axles (x-ray them perhaps) as the 308 is KNOWN to have problems when very grippy r-compound rubber. During hard use the stub breaks and your tire may pass you on the track(!). While not a high ocurance, the breaking stub is a known issue here and there... from time to time. If you use standard basic street rubber there is little to worry about as the rubber lacks any real capability for ultra-high grip as compared to a true R-compound rubber (35 or thereabouts wear rating).

i could go on, but those are a few of the basics. If you plan to really track a lot i do offer my consulting services.

post #4 of 14 Old 07-05-2007, 02:19 PM
Owner