F1 gear box on F355 and clutch rebuild - Ferrari Life
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 03-02-2005, 11:40 AM Thread Starter
Elite Member
 
fana348 France's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Ferrari Life Posts: 79
F1 gear box on F355 and clutch rebuild

do someone know how many km can do a clutch on F355 F1 and if it is as easy to rebuild as on a manual gear box. I was wondering if I would need a computer to restart the car ?
because I will buy a F355 and dont know if the 355 F1 is a good choice for me because I'd repair everything myself like on my 348
bye
fana348 France is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 03-02-2005, 11:50 PM
Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Ferrari Life Posts: 1,684
Re: F1 gear box on F355 and clutch rebuild

Quote:
Originally Posted by fana348 France
do someone know how many km can do a clutch on F355 F1 and if it is as easy to rebuild as on a manual gear box. I was wondering if I would need a computer to restart the car ?
because I will buy a F355 and dont know if the 355 F1 is a good choice for me because I'd repair everything myself like on my 348
bye
You're right you need to re-set the ECU after dismatling or repairing something in the F355. For the clutch rebuild you need to drop the engine, quite messy!
Stradale is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 03-03-2005, 01:21 PM
 
Join Date: May 2004
Ferrari Life Posts: 476
No, the clutch location is the same as on the 348, at the back of the gearbox. Right? You'd just need to remove the rear bumper and muffler to get at it. As far as an F1 system goes I've never seen a right up on doing one of those units.
senna21 is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 Old 03-05-2005, 05:26 AM Thread Starter
Elite Member
 
fana348 France's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Ferrari Life Posts: 79
f1

If I well understood (I m not english or us) the clutch is same like 348 for the location (i knew it) but on F1 gear box I would need the Ferrari computer to reset or restart after clutch rebuilding...
fana348 France is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 03-05-2005, 01:04 PM
Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Ferrari Life Posts: 1,684
Re: f1

Quote:
Originally Posted by fana348 France
If I well understood (I m not english or us) the clutch is same like 348 for the location (i knew it) but on F1 gear box I would need the Ferrari computer to reset or restart after clutch rebuilding...
Yes you have to re-set the ECU. The ECU is located on a cross-bar on the engine bay.
Stradale is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 03-06-2005, 12:25 PM Thread Starter
Elite Member
 
fana348 France's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Ferrari Life Posts: 79
F1

So everything is done to make money and not possible anymore to make your own services on F355 or F360 F1....So I will buy a mecanic gearbox...even If I could aford sometime a Ferrari maintenance, i prefer to do myself and reduce 80% the real price for repair...
look ! my clutch on my 348 with disc rebuilt, bearing totaly rebuilt (bearing, seals...) cost me less than 500 euros, ant in Ferrari store it was about 2500 to 3000 euros !...
thank for your help !
fana348 France is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 03-06-2005, 02:49 PM
Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Ferrari Life Posts: 1,684
Even on a manual gearbox, you'll need to "reset" the ECU after you repaired it. It's not a matter of manual or F1 type, anything that is done to the car needs to be reset using the Ferrari portable computer.
Stradale is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 03-08-2005, 12:05 PM Thread Starter
Elite Member
 
fana348 France's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Ferrari Life Posts: 79
ecu

Shure for the ecu reset with a manual gear box ?? I have done myself the rebuild clutch and did not have to do it ?! and the 355 is same like the 348 clutch I think...
fana348 France is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 03-08-2005, 05:15 PM
Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Ferrari Life Posts: 1,684
Re: ecu

Quote:
Originally Posted by fana348 France
Shure for the ecu reset with a manual gear box ?? I have done myself the rebuild clutch and did not have to do it ?! and the 355 is same like the 348 clutch I think...
From the F355 onwards, anything you touch on the car will reqire ECU reset, unless it's the seats!

Why don't you can check with the Ferrari dealers workshop to satisfy yourself first before you decide on the car.
Stradale is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
Copyright 2012 ONE Media, Inc.
FerrariLife is independently run with no affiliation with Ferrari SpA
Ferrari for Sale | Maserati for Sale