Damaged 328 - Ferrari Life

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 Old 01-25-2011, 02:18 PM Thread Starter

Ferrari Life Posts: 5
Damaged 328

Hi all,

I'm about to buy 328 '88 which has some damages in back (see the attachments please).

I'm a beginner with Ferraris, and would like to hear your opinions.

Can these size damages be fixed with replacing only plate parts or should I reject the whole case?

Can the frame of the car be damaged too?

[IMG]file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/miarohon/My%20Documents/20-01-2011%20051.jpg[/IMG]
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 Old 01-25-2011, 02:30 PM
Administrator
Elite Member

Ferrari Life Posts: 6,320
How is your coach working? You are going to need to replace the rear passenger quarter panel and that will include some welds. Hard to tell from the rear driver side... I see a black line where it looks like the rear quarter panel separated from the flares that lead to the roof, so that might need replacing too. The 328 was the last tube/space frame from Ferrari if I recall. Best to have a PPI to let you know if the chassis is damaged. If it is, consider walking away.
post #3 of 27 Old 01-25-2011, 03:16 PM
Master Mechanic

Ferrari Life Posts: 1,219
Judging by the wrinkle in that rear quarter panel and the door fitment the damage could be severe underneath.

There's definitely more information you'll want to get before deciding which won't be found on the exterior.

post #4 of 27 Old 01-25-2011, 03:53 PM
Owner

Ferrari Life Posts: 6,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by ECSofVirginia View Post
Judging by the wrinkle in that rear quarter panel and the door fitment the damage could be severe underneath.

There's definitely more information you'll want to get before deciding which won't be found on the exterior.