Daytona Spyder - real life input needed - Ferrari Life

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 45 Old 03-10-2011, 06:59 AM Thread Starter

Ferrari Life Posts: 16
Daytona Spyder - real life input needed

Hello, newbie here. I live in the city in the wet Pacific Northwest, the only driving I do is the occasional weekend trip to another town, etc. I have had a lot of high power muscle cars and exotics. I like the power and driving experience of a fine car, the whole sensory experience, but do not like the attention they attract. That is NOT why I buy great cars. The last exotic I had was a Ford GT, which was excellent to drive, but not so great to live with (doors made parking very problematic, car attracted way too many idiots, no trunk!).

Like probably every other aficionado on the planet, I have always liked the Daytona Spyder. A few years a go I drove a Daytona coupe that was in need of repair, and the experience was not good, I'm not sure how reflective it might have been of a properly maintained car, but the steering was very heavy, felt like the steering rack was almost seized, and the clutch was heavy, transmission very heavy making shifts verrrry slow, the air conditioning really did not do anything to deflect the summer heat,etc. I did have a Maserati Ghibli spyder a few years ago and the climate system on that was a complete joke even after I had it serviced and re-charged, maybe it's a vintage Italian thing?

So gents, all glamor, nostalgia and romance aside, can you please share your real world experiences with these cars so that I can decide whether it is worth pursuing a good one? Also, who would you hire to fly wherever and authenticate /inspect a prospective car? How do you weigh in on the pros and cons of a spyder conversion versus an original spyder if one wants to actually drive it? If the new California was a better design I would just get it; and re the 599 I suppose it is better to wait for the coming replacement....