I'm new and looking into a 360 modena - Ferrari Life

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 10-10-2007, 09:53 AM Thread Starter

Ferrari Life Posts: 5
I'm new and looking into a 360 modena

Hey guys, I'm new to the ferrari scene. I've had vettes and vipers, and have been spending my money mostly towards racing, but I'm looking to settle down and buy an exotic. I'm wanting to stay in the low 100k range, so the 360 modena is a perfect fit, and a beautiful car! I looked at the buyers guide as saw the major maintenance was only $1800. I was confused by that because I've always thought the 15k and 30k maint. was closer to $6k. Is all the pricing on there correctly, such as $900 for a clutch etc. ? If that's the case, I'm definitely intersted! I'm looking at probably a 2000 model w/decent mileage, but great history. I'm wanting red/tan. 6sp. manual. Should I stay away from the 1999's? Anything specific to watch out for? Thanks--Andy
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 10-10-2007, 12:34 PM
Owner

Ferrari Life Posts: 3,928
Hi Andy, welcome and good luck with your search for a 360. You'll get some great advice on here, so make sure you stick around and let us know when you find the perfect car.

Archie
post #3 of 9 Old 10-11-2007, 03:11 AM
Administrator
Owner
Elite Member

Ferrari Life Posts: 15,136
The $5-6k maintenance costs are more related to the 348 and F355s cambelt changes. On these models you need to pull the engine which drives the $$$ labor bill. On the 360, the cambelts can be changed with the engine in the car so the cost is about a third. To get an accurate picture on pricing, call both a good local independent and your local Ferrari dealer. While part prices are basically the same worldwide, labor rates differ significantly and they are what drive a significant amount of the cost. As an example, Ferrari dealers change about $200 per hour in the UK, $150 in Italy, and $140 in Spain.

post #4 of 9 Old 10-11-2007, 05:53 AM Thread Starter