360 Total noob starts working on his 360 - Ferrari Life

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 40 Old 03-14-2015, 04:39 PM Thread Starter

Ferrari Life Posts: 48
Total noob starts working on his 360

The Goals:

1.) Determine source of oil leak and fix
2.) Replace Heat exchanger
3.) Replace trans and engine oil and coolant.
4.) Inspect for common issues.

So, I think I should start with some of my qualifications:

1.) losing ratchets and wrenches 5 seconds after finding the right one
2.) Getting dirty
3.) Swearing
4.) bolt plinko

Next I should follow up my tools:

1.) Ratchet set (almost complete)
2.) various allen wrenches; some IKEA branded
3.) Screw drivers of various origins
4.) Hammer

And finally, my qualifications:

1.) I have no qualifications.

So, first I removed the wheel wells. This was easy. 4 screws - each side. No problem.

Next, I removed the challenge grill. This was also easy. 7 nuts, there's supposed to be more, but whatever, your results may vary. Unplug the lights and it's off.

Next, I removed the bumper. I thought this was kind of a pain in the ass. For me, it was 8 big nuts and 4 little ones and a few plugs. Thankfully, I had some extenders for the ratchet or that would have been REALLY hard.

Then I took off the Air box. This required me to remove the small metal cover next to it, too. The air box was held on by 6 or 8 nuts and some grommets. It came out pretty easy, too. You have to free up the oil thing on the top by undoing the 4 nuts for it and move it out of the way.

Then I removed the trunk lid. This was 4 nuts for the trim piece and 4 big bolts. You also have to remove the 4 bolts that hold the supports in place.

Then I removed the side covers. I used a little flat head to pop open the clips on the supports and removed them, then used IKEA allen #2 to remove the side covers. There's like 8 or so on each side.

I was getting tired/bored so I removed the under tray, too. This is held on with about 600 bolts.