360 360 newbie - Ferrari Life

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 34 Old 02-09-2012, 08:35 PM Thread Starter
Owner

Ferrari Life Posts: 44
360 newbie

Hello everyone!
I just purchase my 1st 2001 360 coupe last Sat with my wife. This is suppose to be by B-day present this year...
Drove home with her from LA 320miles, it is an amazing piece of machinery I must say.
I am a certify tech for Toyota, always love exotic fast car, a "gear head" if I may.
I've been in the automotive industry for about 18years new. Nevertheless, I have much to learn on this 360. Operating the f1 gearbox along is something I need to learn right off the front page...
Looking forward for new education from you gentlement from this forum...
Any tip or advise to start out???

thank you
Mike
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 34 Old 02-09-2012, 08:56 PM
Owner

Ferrari Life Posts: 77
I have had my '01 F1 360 coupe for a little over 2 years now. Remember that the accelerator engages the clutch from a standing stop. Practice makes perfect take offs. Just be aware of the sounds that your car makes. My F1 relay kept running a few months back. I think it is one of reasons owners coming out to their car with a dead battery. I had my original Siemens relay replaced by a new Tyco. Hopefully you got lucky like I did with a late production '01 F1 car. They seem to shift better than the earlier ones. Drive the wheels off your car. I take mine out every chance I get. Are you from Northern California?

Nate
post #3 of 34 Old 02-09-2012, 09:05 PM
Owner
Elite Member

Ferrari Life Posts: 11,858
Mike- Welcome to Ferrari Life and congratulations on your new 360. The best advice on how to drive an F1 is to treat it like it is a three pedal car where you do not have to use the clutch and you will love it. Treat it like an automatic and you will hate it.