458 my 458 with michelin's latest and greatest PSS is crzazzp too - Ferrari Life

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 Old 01-02-2012, 02:31 AM Thread Starter
Owner

Ferrari Life Posts: 183
my 458 with michelin's latest and greatest PSS is crzazzp too

i feel like im a tire abuser or tester by trade, i go thru 2 new tires almost every month on my cars.

again, 99% of my driving is in the twistys, NO TRACK, driving at my limit, not intentionally trying to trash my lovely car or tires, but this tire wear, this fast is getting too ridiculous to accept even for me!

my tire shop has officially started a R&D center on high end tires just because of me. first the shxxty front Pzeros that came with the car blistered in less than 2k miles, had to throw those away, the corsas on the scuderia went away in 3600 miles, the S001 doesnt grip much and lasts about the same.....(all no track)

and now, the michelin pilot SUPER SPORTS advertised being the best, latest and greatest tire for all conditions and said to last twice as much as pzeros and other competitiors went completely bald without steel belts showing at 3800 miles!! and it costs 15% more than corsas and 30% more than pzeros and others!!!!!

i went in for a simple rotation because i saw the inside fronts are wearing much more than the outside edges.
Imagine the surprise when the mechanics came out and said i need new tires with less than 4k miles on them???!!!
I went in the bay and looked at them and to my shocking surprise, the inner fronts were bald!!! And they say these lasts twice as much as the pzeros?????!!!!

well......, to be fair, in my case, they did last twice as much as my pzeros.....
but again, HOW THE FXXK does a tire which never been on a track and advertised to last twice as much as others go bald in less than 4k miles???!!!