First Ferrari? - Ferrari Life

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 49 Old 04-17-2013, 10:48 PM Thread Starter

Ferrari Life Posts: 21
First Ferrari?

Hello everyone,
My name is Matthew and I am a High School student from Sunny California. Since I was a young child, the red Italian Stallions have fascinated me. I had an Enzo Ferrari and 512 TR poster in my room since age 5- I swore that both of those cars would be mine (one day.)

Now, I know what you are probably thinking: "Look! a High School brat who wants an Italian super car, which he'll just buy with Mommy and Daddy's money. I guarantee you that he will crash it!"

I would like to make all efforts possible to disconnect myself from that stereotype. First off, I believe I have the level of maturity necessary to own an "affordable" Ferrari. I understand that Italian cars are not the most reliable feats of engineering on the face of the Earth. I also realize that they are fast pieces of motor art, and expensive pieces of art at that.

I am totally capable of working on a Ferrari myself, and I have the assistance of a trained mechanic who specializes in exotic vehicles at my disposal. During summer and on the weekends, I work at his shop, since he is a close family friend. I have worked on everything, ranging from a Dino 308 to a McLaren SLR to a Rossion Q1. All work was done under the guidance of the previously mentioned mechanic, of course. Garage space, tools, and a minimal number of parts are available to me for no cost.

Currently, I drive a 2007 Jaguar XJR to school, work etc. and an early Chevy Avalanche to work. The Jag was the first (and only) car I have purchased with my own money, and the truck is a hand-me-down. I have driven many exotic cars at high speed (both on and off track) during difficult weather conditions- my driving skills should be significantly better than those of a mall-cruising teenage girl.