Depreciation advice on a pair of 360s - Ferrari Life

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 03-18-2013, 05:15 PM Thread Starter

Ferrari Life Posts: 4
Depreciation advice on a pair of 360s

Hello,
I'm new to the Ferrari world looking to purchase a 360 Spider and just trying to figure out values. I'm set on buying a 6 speed manual and have found 2 cars, same color, features, Car A: 11,000 miles for $90k, and Car B: 33,000 miles for $68k. They both have complete service records and clean CarFax reports. Car B has had the hood repainted due to rock chips and recently had its 30k service performed, otherwise they are quite similar and both overall in excellent condition. Any advice on which car would be a better choice to buy in terms of value would be greatly appreciated. I know value is a relative term, but in this case, I guess the issue is whether saving $22k is worth having the extra 20k miles in terms of long term costs. I plan to keep the car for several years. Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 03-18-2013, 06:35 PM
Owner
Elite Member

Ferrari Life Posts: 3,303
Greenlight,

Welcome to the forum, you've come to the right place to find answers and learn about everything Ferrari.

I strongly suggest you download and read the Buyers Guide. Second, I recommend you look up Mike Sheehan's website and read some of his articles, particularly the ones that discuss PPIs (Pre-Purchase Inspections). You'll find out why all 360s are not priced similarly.

There's a common saying; if a Ferrari is bargain priced, it's probably no bargain....

Of all the narcissists I know, I love me the most.
post #3 of 8 Old 03-18-2013, 07:23 PM
Owner

Ferrari Life Posts: 573
Good advice to check out the Buyer's Guide.

If they are the same model year, personally I'd go with the one with higher miles. But me, I prefer to drive the cars ... so the miles do not scare me.

post #4 of 8 Old 03-18-2013, 08:16 PM Thread Starter