Considering an Offer and Need Opinions - Ferrari Life

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 Old 03-27-2012, 01:25 PM Thread Starter

Ferrari Life Posts: 15
Considering an Offer and Need Opinions

OK, so I have found a 2009 f430 Spyder that I like and am thinking about making an offer. It's listed at about $205,000, and has approximately 2500 miles on it. I need to know something about the protocol of negotiating price.

I offered $100K for a 2007 listed at $139,600 a few months ago, and the owner never responded to the offer or communicated with me further. I practice law for a living, and consider every auto purchase to be something that I negotiate multiple rounds. I didn't expect to meet silence, and I'm wondering was the offer offensive enough to make the seller stop communicating with me wholly.

With regards to the 2009 I mentioned above, I can't spend any more than $150,000, and am wondering if I'm going to offend the owner if I offer that. Is $150,00 such an unreasonably low offer that I'm gonna piss someone off? I feel like a dumbass even asking this question, but I feel like I should ask after my last experience.

Can one of the vets on this Forum school me on the etiquette of acceptable versus unacceptable negotiating?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old 03-27-2012, 01:32 PM
Owner
Elite Member

Ferrari Life Posts: 11,856
Just like anything, it varies from owner to owner. If you expected the first owner to play the dollar bill game with you, that was not going to happen because he undoubtedly thought you were a flake.

You can always make an offer and the owner can always refuse, or just ignore the offer and never correspond with you again if he thinks you are a low-baller.

There is nothing different about buying a Ferrari from any other car, house, boat, etc where the price is open to discussion. Too low an offer will likely be ignored.

Taz
Terry Phillips

Present: 575M 135171