1996 Ferrari 355 Berlinetta - Ferrari Life

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 Old 11-11-2011, 10:54 PM Thread Starter

Ferrari Life Posts: 3
1996 Ferrari 355 Berlinetta

Good evening. I am looking to purchase my very first Ferrari. I have always wanted to own a 355, preferably a coupé (red or silver) with only an exclusion to the Spyder - My intentions are to drive and enjoy the car over being seen (so let's get that out of the way, ha!). I would appreciate real, first hand information from a solid knowledge base... that is why we are all here, yes? If you are curious as to why the 355, it is because the 355 was the first Ferrari I drove. I was 15 at the time and it has stuck with me ever since... first impressions last a life time (bought my M3 for the same reason). I would like to know about the maintenance on the car to include yearly operating cost and how much of it I can do myself. I am a solid and patient mechanic with 16 years of experience. My experience varies from lawn mowers to $40 million dollar aircraft(s). I have extensive education and training as well as having multiple certifications. Most importantly is that my confidence does not double as arrogance which reduces the chance of making unnecessary mistakes or undertaking tasks that are better left to individuals who should rightfully be preforming such maintenance. I also would like information on specific maintenance requirements and intervals, specialized tooling and part availability. I understand that there will be a certain amount of time and money dedicated to proper upkeep, and I am prepared for that, but I would like to keep it on the road more than on the rack. I have read extensively on this specific car and of course Ferrari, but I would like to get some information from actual owners, mechanics and historians. There are so many opinions out there and information that can support both sides, but too many times I find myself reading from authors that seem to either be repe