Twin Turbo Red Head - Ferrari Life

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 08-12-2009, 04:49 AM Thread Starter

Ferrari Life Posts: 4
Twin Turbo Red Head

Going to be building a twin turbo kit and EFI system for a '90 Testarossa. The goal will be around 800 HP. Want to make peak power around 7500 - 8000 rpm. I'm new to the Ferarri world and was going to remove the original engine and do all the mods to another motor in case I ever decide to put the car all back to original. Couple of questions:

1). What would I expect to pay for a low mileage (approx 10K miles) used engine?

2). Has anyone done this yet that I could compare notes with ( i.e. who makes a good forged connecting rod and piston for this motor)? Or is this something I'd have to have made.

Thanks for your advice,
John Meaney
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 08-12-2009, 02:11 PM
Owner

Ferrari Life Posts: 27
Norwood Performance in the USA do these kits. Very nice work and will push close to 1000hp.

You could pay $15000 USD for an engine, but contact Douglas Valley Breakers in the UK as they had an engine recently for about 6k GBP.

What do you plan to use for injection and control?
post #3 of 8 Old 08-12-2009, 04:57 PM Thread Starter

Thx for the info Uzz32...I'll check it out.

We sell our own EFI systems marketed under the name BigStuff3

JM

post #4 of 8 Old 08-12-2009, 06:59 PM
Owner

Ferrari Life Posts: 157
"MORE" not always better.

800 horsepower is "Double" the stock horspower rating of a Testarossa. Count on "BLOWING UP!!!" the transmission, the clutch the drive shafts, etc, etc.....I have a modifyed 1991 Testarossa that has 445 hp. Various members on this forum have been taken for a ride, all without exception have been very impressed. No real need for 800hp, unless of course you want to end up wrapped around a TREE!!!.....Mark.
post #5 of 8 Old 08-12-2009, 07:29 PM

Ferrari Life Posts: 3,874