Help me decide - Audi, Merc or Saab - Ferrari Life

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 104 Old 01-09-2009, 01:45 PM Thread Starter
Owner

Ferrari Life Posts: 3,928
Help me decide - Audi, Merc or Saab

I need to find a new daily driver but can't decide what to buy. Help me out.

As I have been driving convertibles for 20 years, an open top is essential, I do not want to be couped up in a salesmans coffin. Min spec is 4 seats, euro NCAP safety rating of at least 4, leather seats (ideally heated as it get's cold here), German/Swedish build quality and reliability. Must return at least 30 MPG, but can be diesel or petrol. Max 3 yrs old, 15K GBP.

I've narrowed my search down to the following.

Audi A4 1.8T or 2.5 TDi - love them and owned 3 already, but bored with them and too common now. According to Top Gear, Audi drivers are Cocks.
Merc CLK 200K - A bit footballers wives and looks a bit puny with 17 inch wheels.
BMW 3 series - Outdated now and every wannabee gangsta owns one
Saab 9-3 - Ugly from the rear, but well spec'd, good choice of engines and cheaper than Germans. Good mid range power
Volvo C70 - NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

I've ruled out Jag XK8's and 911's as they are too thirsty for a daily driver and a bit out of my price currently

Archie
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 104 Old 01-09-2009, 04:29 PM
Owner

Ferrari Life Posts: 1,839
I biased but I adore my Audi. I'm just hitting 150K miles after 2.5 years and the thing is as strong as new. Go a little newer with a 2.0L and consider an A3. At least its differant. FYI the 2.0 packs a much better punch than the 3.2 S series but S brakes are (supposedly) a little better.

Lane

Previous owner of 348ts SS #64, Now Ferrariless
post #3 of 104 Old 01-09-2009, 06:36 PM
Owner
Elite Member

Ferrari Life Posts: 5,509