Airline stocks - Ferrari Life

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 12-21-2005, 09:20 PM Thread Starter
Owner
Elite Member

Ferrari Life Posts: 5,509
Airline stocks

All the major US air carriers are in trouble and filing for bankruptcy. The hurricanes this year had a devastating affect on their business. All the stock analysts and professionals all say steer clear of this stuff, get out while you can. They're down under $1 per share. I'm thinking, "Well, they can't all go away." and against professional advice, I bought a bunch of Delta, United and Northwest Airline stock.

What do you think? I didn't invest anything I can't afford to lose and I'm thinking it will either go up or go away.

BTW - I'm new to the stock market, The only stocks I've had before are the ones my company gave me.

Capt. Pete
'79 308 GTS, '82 Jeep CJ7 Jamboree
"Time is what prevents everything from happening all at once."
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 12-21-2005, 09:43 PM
Administrator
Owner
Elite Member

Ferrari Life Posts: 15,131
All of these airlines are currently in bankruptcy. While the stock is still trading it is not likely to hold much value. In almost all cases current shareholders are wiped out when the company emerges from the bankruptcy proceedings. Several airlines that are not currently operating under court protection are American Ailines, Jet Blue, and Southwest.
post #3 of 11 Old 12-21-2005, 10:01 PM Thread Starter
Owner
Elite Member

Yeah, I looked at those also. Continental is doing quite well and seems like a good buy but it is currently $20 per share (compared to the $15 it was a month ago when I first looked at it, damn.) But I thought if I'm going to gamble, gamble big. Go for the underdog. If only one of those airlines I invested in goes over $3, the other two can go away.

If they all crap out, oh well, roll the dice again. Like I said, I didn't gamble anything I can't afford to lose. We're not talking millions of dollars here.