Slick new (to me) scam - Ferrari Life

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 02-18-2011, 03:41 AM Thread Starter
Owner

Ferrari Life Posts: 4,439
Slick new (to me) scam

I thought I’d share this one since it was new to me. A buddy and I have been negotiating a deal with a Chinese company for about 3 or 4 months now and it looks like everything is right and we’re ready to order.

In what should have been the final email which included the invoice was the wire transfer info and a note calling our attention to a change of banks. Looking closer everything about the wire info was changed form what we'd seen before in just about every way, company name, address and it was now Taiwan not China……hmmm…..

We had our agent in China call the vendor and the vendor says he doesn’t know anything about a bank change and under no circumstances should we wire money anywhere but to the original account.

Looking closer at the email we received the email address is 1 character different than the real email address. It appears someone hacked the email account of the vendor or my partner and has been reading along waiting for the final payment agreement then intercepted and edited the final email.

I’ve never seen anything like this and luckily they weren’t slick enough to be able to create an account at the new bank with the correct names on the account or we might not have caught it.

Anyway, no harm done the deal is proceeding and the first contain will ship in a couple weeks….so anybody interested in an inexpensive (under $10k) electric car?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 02-18-2011, 04:52 AM
Owner
Elite Member

Ferrari Life Posts: 9,567
post #3 of 6 Old 02-18-2011, 06:10 AM Thread Starter
Owner

Quote:
Originally Posted by wetpet View Post
def post the specifics on the car if you haven't already.
Sure