Looking to buy first ferrari - Ferrari Life

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 53 Old 12-04-2012, 09:50 AM Thread Starter

Ferrari Life Posts: 10
Looking to buy first ferrari

Hi.

I am looking to see if I can afford a new Ferrari. Here's my financial breakdown:

My wife and I just came out of an Army program, which payed for our medical school fees (I am a Podiatric Surgeon, She is a Psychiatrist)

I have absolutely no debt, and neither does she. I already have a house paid for that has been bought in cash, so no mortgage.

We are both 31, no kids.

I am signing a contract for 185,000 dollars first year + sign on bonus, with room for expansion, and my wife is signing with a 3 person practice, which will pay her around 120-130 so our gross will be around 310-330K between the both of us.

I went to this website, http://cgi.money.cnn.com/tools/house...useafford.html

And apparently I can afford a mortgage of 7500 dollars a month "conservatively"

Anyway, I looked at a few Ferrari's and the California is around 4400 per month, which is still below the 7500 dollars a month quoted before, and by doing this, I can still put a good amount of money in retirement and live comfortably.

Is this too unreasonable? I saw somewhere where the average buyer of a 458 Italia (5500 a month) has a salary of 500-600K. Would this be living beyond my means?

Seemingly, I can afford a new Ferrari with no problems, but can anyone give any suggestions?

Can I REALLY afford a Ferrari? or a 4-5K a month payment?

Also, I would like to be using it as a daily driver to go shopping, go to work, etc.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 53 Old 12-04-2012, 09:53 AM
Owner
Elite Member

Ferrari Life Posts: 11,852
Welcome. Sure.

Taz
Terry Phillips

Present: 575M 135171
Past: Dino 246 GT 02984, 365 GTB/4 14009, 308 GTS 25125

Every day I look around, and if nobody is shooting at me, it is a pretty good day.
post #3 of 53 Old 12-04-2012, 10:02 AM Thread Starter

Quote: