| | #1 |
| Owner Elite Member Join Date: Jul 2005 Location: Quebec, Canada
Ferrari Life Posts: 1,687
|
I am selling my truck for $24.500 and posted an add in kijiji here in Ottawa, Ontario Canada. The two questions at the end he is asking are almost the first ones on the add Being a first owner, and selling because parking is very tight downtown and have a hard time to park my truck. This is the email I received.....what are your thought on this?????? Hi , I just saw your item advert on kijiji.ca, my dad vehicle was burnt down by fire that is why I'm interested to buy it as gift for my dad living in USA, I'm not home at this time I'm one of the united nation/united states nuclear plants operator delegate sent to Japan to help Japanese government to end the crippled Fukushima Daiichi nuclear plant crisis going on,due to the nature of my work locations and stations, phone calls hardly go through right now, I would have love to call but call is restricted,I really want the item to be a surprise gift for my dad so i will not let him know anything about the item until it get delivered to him, I'm sure he will be more than happy with the item.I will be paying you through paypal because i don't have access to my bank account online as i don't have online banking and i do want us to get the transaction done perfectly and in a secure way through paypal cause its very fast, easy and safe to transfer and receive funds, i can pay from my PayPal account, as I have my bank account attached to paypal, you will need to give me your PayPal email address so i can make the payment immediately for the item and pls if you don't have PayPal account yet,it is very easy to set up one, go to www.paypal.com and get it set up, after you have set it up i will only need the e-mail address you use for registration with PayPal so as to transfer the money into your paypal account effectively... I do have a shipper that will come and pick the item up after i have made the payment into your paypal account,I would really like to come to see the item, but like I said earlier my shipper will see to things if we eventually have it worked out and at the same time won't mind you sending me a couple of pictures so I can see more it's views Are you the first owner of the item , What is your reason for selling it? I'm sorry, just want to be sure about the sale before i proceed. I will pay $25,000.00 for your car ,kindly reply me back with your paypal information so i can transfer the money to you effectively Regards. ~ Mario 1990 348 TS (87284) “I build cars for young men that only old men can afford” - Enzo Ferrari |
| | |
| Sponsor - Register now for free to stop viewing this ad. |
| | #2 |
| Owner Elite Member Join Date: Feb 2005 Location: Yokohama & Tokyo, Japan
Ferrari Life Posts: 3,541
Name: Jimmy Chen Shiba
|
Fraud, (IMO) Mario. It almost smells. Jimmy PS. Saying so, if the individual comes thru by paying you first via Paypal or whatever, then I suppose it its okay. Get payment first and confirmed or no deal. |
| | |
| | #3 |
| Sponsor Elite Member Join Date: Nov 2009 Location: ONTARIO
Ferrari Life Posts: 308
Name: ALEX ARMELLIN
|
Big scam.............
Ferrari Service Daytona Sport Cars 5309 Hwy 7 Woodbridge Ontario 905 264 9982 www.daytonaauto.ca DEALER FOR X-OST MARANELLO SPORT MUFFLERS |
| | |
| | #4 |
| Owner Elite Member Join Date: Jun 2009 Location: Europe
Ferrari Life Posts: 3,255
|
Total scam. If it sounds to good to be true.... Barry Ferrari's: 360 Modena F1, 308 GT4 Other Italians: Ducati 916, Ducati 848 DD's: RR Sport, BMW 645ci, BMW 1200GS Adv. |
| | |
| | #5 |
| Owner Elite Member Join Date: Feb 2007 Location: Jersey, Channel Islands
Ferrari Life Posts: 4,281
|
Calls are restricted but e-mail is not???? I think this e-mail is radioactive.... Personally, I would just make it a rule not to sell to anyone you have not met in person. And also be careful with that, never let the person get into the car with the key, they might drive off leaving you standing. Amazing how often that happens. Onno |
| | |
| | #6 |
| Owner Elite Member Join Date: Dec 2007 Location: Regina, Canada
Ferrari Life Posts: 2,063
Name: Roberto Giannini
|
Bro you serious RUN RUN RUN Same thing happened to me when I was selling the Ferrari, he worked at an Oil rig and they did not have Internet banking Yadda Yadda Yadda lol pay in full on Paypal etc.. etc.. total scam Night life........ain't a good life........but it's my life -- Willy Nelson |
| | |
| | #7 |
| Owner Elite Member Join Date: Jan 2006 Location: Chevy Chase, Md
Ferrari Life Posts: 6,598
Name: Ed
|
what they said. Everything you know is wrong Stop chatting and start living the ferrarilife! |
| | |
| | #8 |
| Owner Elite Member Join Date: Apr 2010 Location: Houston
Ferrari Life Posts: 737
Name: John
|
I don't doubt for a minute that this is a scam, but what's interesting is that I would have nearly the same "line" as this scammer when I'm out in the Sahara, (and perhaps that's why many vendors don't return my emails!) Out here we have limited to useless telephone service, but email does tend to go out & arrive fairly reliably. Can't do wire transfers, but when the Internet is working, I do have Internet banking and access to PayPal. Nearly everything this character said is the same thing I would have, EXCEPT: 1. Offering to pay more than the asking price of the vehicle. Is he nuts? 2. Buying it as a surprise gift for his dad. Very gracious but...... 3. The whole message centering around the reason he's buying it, giving you his background, etc. But he's ready to send you money after asking only two questions about the condition of the vehicle itself? Hmmm. Scary '99 550, Rosso Corsa / Nero, S/N:114654, Assy: 31836, Engine: 52084 High mileage, low compression, and missing on a few cylinders.....just like my cars. |
| | |
| | #9 | |
| Owner Elite Member Join Date: Feb 2007 Location: Jersey, Channel Islands
Ferrari Life Posts: 4,281
| Quote:
Interestingly, eBay blocked my account because I accessed it myself in Mali. Life's tough when you're a globetrotter. Onno | |
| | |
| | #10 |
| Owner Elite Member Join Date: Jul 2005 Location: Quebec, Canada
Ferrari Life Posts: 1,687
|
Thanks everyone, I found it odd that the first two emails he kept reffering it to "the item". Have you ever bought a car of truck and when talking to the salesman you kept saying....so does the item come with power folding mirrors, because the item needs to have good gas milleage....etc... But I have ot be honest.....Jimmy, I used you to see if I would get a reply. I told him, I have a reputable friend in Tokyo not far from the plant and he has agreed to meet you and discuss the transaction with you. Give me your address and he will contact you to arrange a meeting. So since last night, I have not heard from him but before, every 20 mins or so. ~ Mario 1990 348 TS (87284) “I build cars for young men that only old men can afford” - Enzo Ferrari |
| | |
| | #11 | |
| Owner Elite Member Join Date: Feb 2005 Location: Yokohama & Tokyo, Japan
Ferrari Life Posts: 3,541
Name: Jimmy Chen Shiba
| Quote:
| |
| | |
| | #12 |
| Owner Elite Member Join Date: Jul 2010 Location: Johannesburg RSA
Ferrari Life Posts: 768
Name: Peter
| |
| | |
| | #13 |
| Owner Elite Member Join Date: Jun 2010 Location: PA, USA
Ferrari Life Posts: 2,396
Name: Mark
| |
| | |
| | #14 |
| Owner Elite Member Join Date: Jan 2006 Location: Chevy Chase, Md
Ferrari Life Posts: 6,598
Name: Ed
|
it keeps saying item because it is a template letter sent out to thousands of dupes for hundreds of "items".
Everything you know is wrong Stop chatting and start living the ferrarilife! |
| | |
| | #15 | |
| Owner Elite Member Join Date: Jul 2005 Location: Quebec, Canada
Ferrari Life Posts: 1,687
| Quote:
It's what I was thinking as well.... Thanks everyone.... ~ Mario 1990 348 TS (87284) “I build cars for young men that only old men can afford” - Enzo Ferrari | |
| | |
| | #16 |
| Owner Join Date: Nov 2009 Location: Near Olney, MD
Ferrari Life Posts: 884
Name: Kevin
|
I've seen this one before. Absolutly a scam. Works two ways. One is the buyer uses a stolen CC to open a Paypal account. Read the fine print and you will find that Paypal will take the money back from your account. The second and most common is the guy spoofs an email to you that appears to come from Paypal showing the amount has been deposited to your account. I reality nothing has ever been deposited in your account. The email will look very official like it came from Paypal. The key is never accept Paypal unless you are shipping the item to the confirmed mailing address associated with the credit card. ------------------------------ Life is Good!
|
| | |
| | #17 | |
| Owner Elite Member Join Date: Jan 2007 Location: far and away
Ferrari Life Posts: 5,039
|
Oh, he sounds so much like a Nuclear Inspector, all too busy and showing absolutely great writing ability. Quote:
What's not to believe .... I'm quite sure it was Prince something or other from Zambia that gave him the recommendation.... Surprised he didn't mention his Navy SEAL side job. ya' just give him access to your paypal....it will be a long, long exciting adventure. Guide to the Galaxy: Don't Panic Rik -- LAH ! Current: 1990 Mondial T Cabriolet : Red/Tan 1995 456 GT 2+2 : Roso Metalizzato [Fer 311/C] & Tan | |
| | |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |